Creamy Vanilla Polenta Porridge

I had a craving and an old school craving (just like the old breakfast sandwich). I thought I would make some quinoa porridge but I saw that jar of polenta all yellow and bright and I thought wow I absolutely need to have some warm porridge for breakfast. 

I used to eat porridge for breakfast in the mornings, it was some what of a staple if someone was up and feeling up to making it for me. The only difference was that I ate white maize meal and since I don’t stick that at home because of my polenta preference I decided how about some porridge with a twist? Growing up my breakfast porridge with white maize meal was prepared with water and a pinch of salt. Then when ready would be topped with some cold butter, milk and granulated brown sugar. Loved the taste and I can still remember it. 

But that was then and this is now. Just threw some things that I’m used to in my style of porridge making today.

Ingredients:

150ml water

Pinch of salt

1/3 cup polenta

1 Tbsp honey 

Squeeze of Vanilla paste

Splash of almond milk

Mixed frozen berries

Flaked almonds

Instructions:

Bring a small pot of water and salt to the boil. Once boiling slowly add your polenta and keep whisking to prevent clumps. Lower your heat to medium low at this point and add half a tablespoon into your bowl and mix. Keep whisking from time to time. Add a splash of almond milk if the porridge looks as if it’s hardening and mix gently. Your porridge is ready once nice and creamy at this point squeeze in vanilla paste and mix. Pour your porridge into your bowl, add remaining honey, add a splash of almond milk as required, almond flakes and frozen summer berries and enjoy your warm winter porridge bowl.

Thanks granny šŸ™‚

GF | LF | RSF

Leave a Reply

