How To Make Your Own Peanut Butter

I’ve been holding off on this recipe since before I even got my Nutri bullet blender because I was anxious about the mixed reviews on whether or not this bullet can make nut butter and I already had an experience with making a chocolate bar base with macadamia nuts that did not exactly work in my favour. I can chalk it up to fear! Pure fear that it wouldn’t work out and the scary noise my machine would make as it growls at me in scorn – a bit dramatic I know but if you can feel my heart race at the thought you’d think of me as a little less. So I braved it today because I had time, I had no more excuses to avoid it and I decided I’d have more control through pulsing rather than just letting it do its own thing.

Psshhh what was I so afraid of? Haha, yes judge me because I really was being a drama queen. I can confidently say that Nutribullet does produce nut butter with no additives, just pure roasted nuts – that’s it. All it needs is a little patience (it’s a process), a little confidence (for me or for you, whichever helps) and some nuts. So the rave about making your own peanut butter is that you’re more in control of what you’re putting into your mouth. I am a peanut butter addict I will admit that right here and now and I have always been that way. Prior to me learning that I needed to control the amount of peanut butter I spread on my toast I would eat a tablespoon of peanut butter (yes alone) and find myself going back to the jar alone. There was a point where I had to stay off peanut butter because my butt was complaining but that’s a whole other story. I then have come to realize that there is absolutely nothing wrong with having peanut butter the problem arises when we buy peanut butter from the store and don’t read the label! There is salt, oil and sugar added and some other ingredient that I have no idea what it is and then just to ensure that it “doesn’t have enough oil” they’ve added extra oil. No wonder my butt was writing its own website. Then you add that to bread, you add banana (more sugar) then drizzle some honey (even more sugar) oh my goodness you’ve completely ruined your healthier option. And it’s those little things which add up and make you wonder why your diet and exercise regime isn’t working. Who wants to eat a teaspoon of peanut butter on an entire wide slice of bread? Not me, you’re wasting my time. So I’m creating your own peanut butter you’re more control of what you need. The amount of oils in nuts are great, much more than you think. Chop a roasted macadamia nut or crush a raw pecan nut between your fingers and feel the grease that oozes from the nuts, so why would you need the extra oil? Honestly, it only makes the process far less time consuming. So make your own, start with the basics, like peanuts and you can still add your oils and unrefined sugars in but at least you will know how much you’re consuming for your own health preferences. Enough blabbing, here we go.


Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup raw nuts of choice (I used almonds)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 160 degrees. Spread nuts evenly in a casserole dish or on a baking tray lined with baking paper and roast your nuts until golden brown (you’ll be able to smell the fragrance in your kitchen). Remove from your oven and allow them to cool completely, 30 minutes to 1 hour. If you’re using a nutribullet remember your nuts should be completely cool before pulsing as nutribullet was not made to function with hot foods and without liquids. 

Add your cooled nuts to your blender or processor and pulse. You will have to shake your case to remove from sides of the walls or use a silicone spatula to push the build up down. Give 1-2 minute breaks between pulses to allow the nuts to release their oils. The longer you spend on the process the more a smoother finish occurs. If you need to add oil I’d recommend once the peanuts have formed a dough ball consistency so you can add the maximum amount of oil required. Once done if you want you can add a pinch of salt and your honey/maple syrup or even vanilla paste and mix. Add to a used glass jar and seal. And presto easy peasy peanut butter without the added expense.


Xx

Leave a Reply

