Creamy Cashew Blueberry Bowl

This recipe was not planned at all it was actually an error because I thought I had some bananas but clearly I’ve been behaving like a monkey lately, so I had to improvise. But this was a delicious mistake and I thought I’d share this recipe. I recently bought cashew butter because I wanted to experiment with different nut butters and see how they all taste. I needed to thicken my quinoa another way and I decided to add a generous tablespoon of cashew nut butter but it didn’t seem to show signs of thickening immediately and then decided I would add some protein powder but I got distracted by something else and by the time I returned to the pot the quinoa had thickened nicely. Some things just work out right? So let’s get to this delicious and filling breakfast recipe.

Ingredients:

3 tbs quinoa (rinsed)

100ml water

Pinch of salt

100ml almond milk (or any dairy free milk alternative)

3 tsp honey

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 generous tbs cashew nut butter

150ml almond milk

4 tbs blueberries

Toppings

Crushed cashews

Mixed berries of choice

Instructions

In a small pot bring water and pinch of salt to a boil and then add your quinoa and cook on high heat for 1 minute. Reduce heat and add your 100ml of milk, honey and vanilla extract and leave to cook for 5 minutes. Add your cashew butter, milk and blueberries and mix well and cook until liquid has reduced and quinoa has thickened. Pour your quinoa into your bowl and top with crushed cashews and mix berries. Insert spoon and dig in.
Food time!

GF |RSF | LF

Leave a Reply

