Flavourless onion free life?

This post is a laughable one because when I learnt of my allergy to onions I thought oh my goodness bland food for life. I mean onions add an incredible amount of flavoring to food right? And yes there’s garlic seeing as I can handle it for flavoring but not every food recipe agrees with garlic. If you do not read my first post returning to food blogging, I discovered in 2016 that I am allergic to onions (yes it’s a thing) it causes the throat to be inflamed and can provide symptoms such as difficulty swallowing, stomach irritability, vomiting. Prior to learning about this allergy my spices and herbs included, salt, pepper, rosemary, thyme, ginger and basil. Now in my pantry you will always find cinnamon, Himalayan salt, black pepper, chilli powder, cumin, basil, dill, ground coriander, thyme, rosemary, turmeric, ginger… there are so many ways to flavor my foods which completely negate the need for onions and taste so extremely good. I honestly don’t miss onions. If you yourself have an onion allergy, I am here to tell you that you will survive without onions, that is a promise. 

Leave a Reply

