Butternut Onion Relish Couscous Salad

image

This hands down is one of the best salads I have made. The sweet onion relish onion and butternut compliment with the salty feta and sour lemon dressing. I added the couscous as a last thought because I could not see myself having a dinner without some type of starch. The couscous also reminded me of night’s spent exploring Algerian restaurants, granted the bread was my favourite but I had never tasted couscous in the way I did in Algiers. So, eating this salad provided me with the warmth of my earlier days travelling the world. If I could imagine taking my love for food back to the destinations I have travelled to that would be amazing.
But since I am sitting at home typing this I will just get to the recipe. I must make a note that I ate my alfalfa sprouts raw but you absolutely can soak your sprouts in the morning and then just rinse them before using them. I also read placing them in the sun before consuming your sprouts also helps for better absorption of all the vitamins!

Ingredients:

1/4 raw couscous
1/2 cup butternut
Red onion relish
1/4 round of feta cheese
1/2 Mediterranean cucumber
Handful of baby spinach
Handful alfalfa sprouts
Tspn lemon juice
Olive oil

Directions:

Pre heat your oven to 180 degrees celsius. Rinse and layer your butternut on a baking tray with foil and add a small amount of olive oil and Himalayan salt. Roast your butternut in the oven until soft on the inside. Rinse your baby spinach and alfalfa sprouts and chop your cucumber. In a bowl add your couscous and season with salt. Add one part boiling water to your couscous and cover with a lid for 5 minutes.
Fluff your couscous with a fork and add to your serving plate. Add your spinach, cucumber, butternut, feta and sprouts. Add your red onion relish, add as much as you like. I could not find any in store and so I made my own. I will do a post on that later this week, It’s incredible! Toss your salad and sprinkle some olive oil and lemon juice as your dressing.
And you are done! Enjoy :).

KissesXx

Leave a Reply

