Peanut Butter Strawberry Cups

  
I have been taking note on social media that people are creating no bake cups and mostly they contain peanut butter. Now I love peanut butter, I always have- it actually reminds me of when I was in primary school and how my father gave me peanut butter sandwiches or peanut butter and jam and how I used to pretend I hated it because my friends thought my food was “gross” haha, well I am owning it now and that is what matters.    
 So I decided to try my hand at making my own raw peanut butter cups, I decided to use the strawberries in the fridge because I am worried if I do not incorporate it into a meal every day they will rot. So experiments went underway. I melted the 70% Lindt dark chocolate that I always have in my fridge and layered them in my daughters silicon cupcake holder set I got her for her birthday this year. I then halved strawberries and mixed organic peanut butter with a little more sunflower oil to get a smooth consistency and added a teaspoon of maple syrup. I then added the halved strawberries and covered with the peanut butter mixture, covered and left in the fridge to set for a couple hours. On first taste I felt the dark chocolate was too bitter and didn’t compliment the other ingredients as an entire taste but it has inspired a second try for a different mix of ingredients that will work well with the peanut butter and strawberry.   
I only had a passion for baking and cooking and trying different ideas in the kitchen when I was about seven months pregnant with my daughter in 2012, prior to that I did not care at all about cooking or spending any time in the kitchen. I like to joke with my family that I never came out of the nesting phase because even when I had my 3 month old baby, I would be in the kitchen trying recipes whilst my daughter took a nap. In general I get lucky on my first attempt but moments like these (moments where the idea did not turn out as best as I had hoped) encourage me to use my creativity, determination, eye and in this case taste buds to try again or try different ingredients. If 4 years ago you would have told me that I would enjoy being in the kitchen I would laugh hysterically at you. Experimenting in the kitchen can be all trial and error but I am telling you, those have produced some of the most tasty meals. Being on a fitness journey certainly does limit my cooking style and so I am constantly on the search for healthy alternatives and healthy cheats that will still have me on track with my fitness goals- all the more fun :). 

KissesXx

Leave a Reply

