Cinnamon Hot Chocolate Snow Mug

sugarthevanilla1With all the rain from last night, we are left with a biting cold winter’s day in Johannesburg, South Africa. I wish I could snuggle up on the couch and watch movies all day but that is not possible so I have to find other ways to keep myself warm and since it is my cheat day I have decided to indulge in some chocolate.

At Mugg & Bean, my favourite warmer is their hot chocolate pudding range which are so tasty and gorgeous and scrumptious and delicious and every other word that I could name in the book. So I decided to try and replicate my own cinnamon hot chocolate mug for today. I used my mason jars which I bought from Adam’s Discount Center in Fourways, I bought a set of 6 mason jars with a straw lid for about R200 which is about $30 and they came with a tray. I know you can get affordable ones on Etsy from various vendors and some you can even personalise. This recipe is delicious and full of aroma and will definitely give you a tasty boost to carry on with the cold day.

sugarthevanilla3

Cinnamon Hot Chocolate Snow Mug (makes 2 cups) 2 cups almond milk (or any kind of milk you desire) ½ tspn ground cinnamon ½ tspn vanilla powder (you can use extract or essence) 2 tablespoons granulated sugar (use amount desired for sweetness) 2 ½ tablespoons of cocoa powder (you can use hot chocolate powder but you may want to skim on the sugar if it already has been sweetened) ¼ cup vanilla whipped cream (you can combine and whip heavy cream, powdered sugar and vanilla extract if you cannot find vanilla whipped cream) Garnish: Extra ground cinnamon Mini marshmallows (optional) Place your milk and ½ tspn of ground cinnamon in a sauce pan over medium heat. Allow the milk to steam (not boil), lower your heat to low heat and cover for 5-7 minutes. Combine vanilla powder and sugar to get vanilla infused sugar. Add the sugar and cocoa powder to the warm milk and whisk until sugar and cocoa are well combined and dissolved. Once combined well, pour your hot cocoa into your mason mugs, top with mini marshmallows and whipped cream and dust on top with cinnamon and dark chocolate shavings and indulge!

sugarthevanilla2

3 thoughts on “Cinnamon Hot Chocolate Snow Mug

Leave a Reply

